Christiane Reimann Prize

Christiane Reimann

The Christiane Reimann Prize is named after ICN’s first full-time Executive Secretary. Christiane Reimann was born in Denmark and graduated from Copenhagen’s Bispebjerg Hospital in 1916. She became Executive Secretary of ICN in 1925. In 1934 she left ICN to manage her farm in Syracuse, Italy where she died in 1979 at the age of 92. Christiane Reimann believed in the tremendous potential of nursing and ICN. Many key ICN programmes were initiated by her, including the creation of ICN’s official journal, the International Nursing Review

The Christiane Reimann Prize recognises outstanding nursing achievement and is known all over the world as nursing’s most prestigious international award. The prize is awarded every four years to one or more Registered Nurses (first level), who have made a significant impact on the nursing profession internationally, or through the nursing profession for the benefit of humanity. The prize is a substantial cash award and a hand-painted porcelain statue of a nurse. The award epitomises the values and standards that define ICN as the leader in nursing internationally.

Previous recipients of the Christiane Reimann Prize

  • 1985: Virginia Henderson
  • 1989: Dame Nita Barrow, Barbados
  • 1993: Dame Sheila Quinn, United Kingdom
  • 1997: Dr Mo-Im Kim, Korea, and Dr Hildegard Peplau, USA
  • 2005: Dr Margretta Madden Styles, USA
  • 2009: Dr Máximo A. González Jurado, Spain
  • 2013: Kirsten Stallknecht, Denmark
  • 2017: Dr Sheila Tlou, Botswana and Dr Linda Aiken, USA
  • 2021: Dr Sheuan Lee, Taiwan Nurses Association