Who we are Awards Christiane Reimann Prize Christiane Reimann Prize

 Brochure       Criteria     


Nursing’s most prestigious international award

About Christiane Reimann

The Christiane Reimann Prize is named after the International Council of Nurses’ first full-time Executive Secretary and is funded by a trust reserve established through Ms Reimann’s will.

Christiane Reimann was born in Denmark and graduated from Copenhagen’s Bispebjerg Hospital in 1916. She became Executive Secretary of ICN in 1925. In 1934 she left ICN to manage her farm in Syracuse, Italy where she died in 1979 at the age of 92.

Christiane Reimann believed in the tremendous potential of nursing and ICN. Many key ICN programmes were initiated by her, including the creation of ICN’s official journal, the International Nursing Review.

About the Prize

The Christiane Reimann Prize recognises outstanding nursing achievement and is known all over the world as nursing’s most prestigious international award.

The prize is awarded every four years to one or more Registered Nurses (first level), who have made a significant impact on the nursing profession internationally, or through the nursing profession for the benefit of humanity. The prize is a substantial cash award and a hand-painted porcelain statue of a nurse.

The award epitomises the values and standards that define ICN as the leader in nursing internationally. The list of previous recipients represents a wealth of outstanding achievement in nursing science and practice. We urge you to take part in choosing the next nurse to join this list. It could be someone who has touched your life.

Nominees may come from any part of the world and from any nursing background. You may know a nurse whose vision, leadership and commitment to the advancement of nursing knowledge, make her or him an eligible nominee.

Previous recipients of the Christiane Reimann Prize

  • 1985 : The world’s ‘most beloved nurse’, writer, clinician and researcher Virginia Henderson, USA, author of the landmark text Basic Principles of Nursing Care, was the inaugural recipient of the Christiane Reimann Award.
  • 1989 : The recipient of the Prize, Dame Nita Barrow, Barbados, was considered one of the world’s leading experts in public health and health education of her time during a career spanning over forty years at the time of her award.
  • 1993 : Dame Sheila Quinn, United Kingdom, received the Prize. for her leading role in establishing the position of nursing within Europe and in improving nursing education throughout Europe.
  • 1997 : Dr Mo-Im Kim, Korea, and Dr Hildegard Peplau, USA, shared the Prize. Dr Kim was recognised for her multifaceted work in improving health, enhancing the nursing profession at national and international levels and for her continuing major influence in the development of community health and social policy. Dr Peplau’s revolutionary work in patient-nurse relationships set the groundwork for the speciality of psychiatric nursing. She introduced many innovations in graduate education and nursing research.
  • 2005 : Dr Margretta Madden Styles, USA, a nurse scholar renowned globally as an international leader in nursing education, regulation and credentialing, was awarded the Christiane Reimann Prize for her remarkable achievements.
  • 2009 : Dr Máximo A. González Jurado, Spain, was acknowledged for his development of nursing in Spain and its impact on the professional regulation as well as for the strengthening of nursing in South America and Africa.
  • 2013: Former President of the International Council of Nurses, the Danish Nurses Organisation and the Nordic Nurses Federation, Kirsten Stallknecht was awarded the Christiane Reimann for her enthusiasm and passion for nursing and her encouragement of nurses around the world to strive for excellence in nursing.
  • 2017 The prize was jointly awarded to Dr Sheila Tlou, UNAIDS Regiona Support Team Director for East and Southern Africa, and Dr Linda Aiken, Professor at the Univerity of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, USA.


Note: NNAs wishing to make a nomination as an organisation are limited to one nominee (be it an individual nurse or group of 2-3 nurses collaborating on the same project.)