Members Members categories Members categories

Members categories

There are currently four categories of ICN membership:

  1. Alliance – Under this category, national nursing groups in the country decide to form a new national nursing organisation for international purposes. Banded together in an international alliance, the Alliance becomes the full ICN member. The Alliance determines its own makeup and may include national generalist and specialist groups.
  2. Associate – Under this category, three national nursing organisations can be ICN members. The most representative NNA is the full ICN member and retains full membership rights and obligations. Two (2) other national nursing associations, with the support of the NNA, may become associates of ICN. Associates have restricted membership rights and obligations.
  3. Collaboration – Under this category, there is one full ICN member with the associated rights and responsibilities. However, it speaks from the informed perspective of the input of the selected national nursing collaborating groups. The full NNA member selects national generalist and specialist groups with whom it wishes to collaborate on international issues and establishes national operating rules for doing so. The full ICN member seeks input from the collaborating organisations prior to forming its position on international issues.
  4. Traditional – Under this category there is normally only one full NNA per country and this is the most representative generalist nursing organisation in the country. In the case where the association represents less than 6% of nurses in the country additional full ICN members, that comply with the requirements* of size and also comply with the requirements for a National Nurses’ Association*, may also join.

For more information, please see ICN constitution (2013).

Last Updated on Tuesday, 05 May 2015 01:00